OCI in 2022 and TOB Election Results

Monday, January 31, 2022 by Open Container Initiative

The OCI wrapped up a great 2021 and focused on bringing the community together with its first ever OCI Summit and also focused on improving the security of the project by funding fuzzing integration. Furthermore, according to a recent report from Datadog, container orchestration is now the norm. Today, almost all containers are orchestrated, with Kubernetes used by over half of organizations.

To kick off 2022, we are excited to announce the following five board members are joining or returning to the OCI Technical Oversight Board (TOB). The TOB comprises independently elected individuals who provide oversight of the technical leadership and serve as a point of appeal. Each member has been elected to serve a two-year term:

  • Josh Dolitsky [Chainguard]
  • Phil Estes [Amazon]
  • Jon Johnson [Google]
  • Samuel Karp [Amazon]
  • Nisha Kumar [VMWare]

These TOB members join the following existing members, who are each in the middle of two-year terms:

  • Tycho Andersen [Cisco]
  • Vincent Batts [Microsoft]
  • Derek McGowan [Apple]
  • Aleksa Sarai [SUSE]

For outgoing TOB members, we would like to thank Steve Lasker and Wei Fu for their contributions to container standardization!

In 2022, we plan on focusing efforts on improved conformance tooling, security and a new working group around reference types.

If you’re interested in contributing to OCI, please join the OCI developer community. If you’re interested in building products on OCI technology, join as a member and visit https://github.com/opencontainers for more details about releases and specifications in development.