OCI 2019 Elections and New TOB Lineup

Monday, February 11, 2019 by Open Container Initiative

As mentioned in our first post of 2019, this year is shaping up to be our busiest yet. The OCI community plans to roll out updates to specifications, ship a v1.0 of runc + much more, all in the next few months!

One exciting new development ready to share is the selection of the following four board members, elected to each serve a two-year term on the OCI Technical Oversight Board (TOB) – comprised of independently elected individuals who provide oversight of the technical leadership and serve as a point of appeal:

  • Vincent Batts (Red Hat)
  • Michael Crosby (Docker)
  • Aleksa Sarai (SUSE)
  • Derek McGowan (Docker)

These newest TOB members join the following existing members, who are each in the middle of two-year terms:

  • Taylor Brown (Microsoft)
  • Stephen Day (Cruise)
  • Phil Estes (IBM)
  • Jon Johnson (Google)
  • Mrunal Patel (Red Hat)

The TOB also voted to elect Michael Crosby (Docker) as the 2019 Chair. To learn more about the term limits, the function of the board + more, you can follow TOB activity here on GitHub.

We’d love to extend a big thank you to all of our outgoing TOB members – Vishnu Kannan and Greg Kroah-Hartman – for their commitment to OCI and its growing project community. We look forward to your continued collaboration on all things container standards!

As always, we welcome any + all contributions from the community – our progress this year banks on the support and collaboration of many 👍🏼

If you’re interested in contributing to OCI, please join the OCI developer community. For those who are building products on OCI technology, we recommend joining as a member and visiting https://github.com/opencontainers for more details about releases and specifications in development.